Tuesday, November 17, 2009


There will never be a writer quite like J. G. Ballard (a British science fiction writer, for those who live under a rock) ever again in all the land. R.I.P. my friend, you rock worlds.

Naturally, a complete collection of his works is a must-have for any fan. "The Complete Stories of J. G. Ballard" is a book that you will cherish forever. Filled with his 98 of his most original and haunting tales, from the 50's to the 90's.

Whether you have always loved the works of J.G. Ballard, or you are just getting into him for the first time, you will without a doubt ADORE "The Complete Stories of J.G. Ballard."

Sunday, November 15, 2009

the nations most popular sport.

Brian Billick (with help from Michael MacCambridge) give us a great overview of the NFL, both on and off the field, in the new (Super Bowl-winning coach approved) book, "More Than A Game." This book is for the serious, fantasy league, honk if you LOVE football types, as well as those of us who enjoy to casually watch football. (GO BILLS, no?)

We all know the deal of what happens on the field, it's the off the field action that gets left out of the big screen. This book includes the front office work, as well as back office, and let me tell you, it takes a lot to put this sport in action.

"More Than A Game" HAS IT ALL.

Saturday, November 7, 2009


Alright, I have to be honest, "Level 26: Dark Origins" by Anthony Zuiker was a bit graphic AND scary for my taste. Most of you enjoy being scared to death, so you go a head and grab a copy of this. Those of us who are a tad faint of heart, beware. You will not go outside alone for about a month.

Other raters where indifferent about this book. Some enjoyed it, some thought the plot was crap. I for one, simply do not like torturous, graphic murders. My imagination is too wild on it's own, I do not need those pictures pasted into my head.

If you like CSI, if you like to be scared...no, terrified, and if you are a serial killer. Please read this book. Oh, and there's a website that goes along with it. Very unique, and we support individuality, now don't we?

Thursday, November 5, 2009


History, exciting? Only author Michael Meyer could take a story about the fall of the Berlin Wall, and make it so thrilling, I could not put it down. "The Year That Changed the World" is absolutely phenomenal.

President Reagan's "Mr. Grobachev, tear down this wall!" exhortation when visiting Berlin in 1987 has long been cited as the call that brought the Cold War to an end. Not only was the book a pleasure to read, but I actually felt like I took something away from it. This untold story is an excellent background on the fall of European Communism.

I will let our historian Meyer tell you the rest!



Marie Mutsuki Mockett's first novel "Picking Bones from Ash" is absolutely delightful. She takes us through over 50 years of Japanese culture, teaching us about the beautiful traditions while keeping us intrigued with the mystery of the story. The novel is told from multiple characters perspectives, which is personally my favorite style.

There is more to being Japanese than your last name, it is a lovely culture filled with traditions and family values. Join Satomi and her family, on a wild ride of suspense and love that is lost, and discover whether or not that love can be found again.

Be prepared to get lost in her world.


Thursday, October 15, 2009

war....what is it good for.

In "The Box from Braunau" author Jan Elvin tells her father Bill's incredible life story from start to finish. She begins with his early life as a Scottish immigrants, then transitions to his war experiences, return to civilian life and progression into old age.

Elvin focuses on war, slave labor and survival going along with World War II and the Nazi concentration camps. She shares her families personal struggle with life after the terrible war, including her fathers Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. This book is filled with her fathers letters and journals during the war, and is extremely fascinating.

You cannot help but be captivated by this story.

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

sparks new book to movie!

Would you like to know what I love about Nicholas Sparks novels? Yes? Alright, I'll tell you: Things are never what they appear to be. He usually gives us a little hint, a tiny bit of foreshadowing, but usually, readers are surprised.

"The Last Song" was a breathe of fresh air. Sparks last few novels have been a sort of let down for me. I just adored Ronnie as our main character. A seventeen year old wild child, with a conscience. Even though I am twenty-four, I can relate to a teeny bopper character more than one in their thirties or forties. It has a bit of "The Notebook" themes, but is entirely different as well.

Ronnie is forced to live in North Carolina for the entire summer, with her crafty (but cute) ten year old brother, and her father who bounced out on her family. She hasn't spoken to him in THREE years. But of course, things are not what they seem. Reading as this young woman falls in love, learns to forgive and changes lives...it's beautiful. Really. You won't be disappointed!

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

flat belly diet.

I am not going to sit here and tell you that I tried "The Flat Belly Diet" (by Liz Vaccariello & Cynthia Sass) and lost hundreds of pounds and am now as sexy as Megan Fox. I am not much for dieting, so what I am going to do is tell you why I think this book WOULD work for those of you looking to drop some LB's.

A weight loss program is a LIFESTYLE. If you look inside this book, and hate everything about the recipes, you probably wont be able to permanently change your lifestyle. The overview is basically 4 meals at 400 calories each. They incorporate a lot of "good fats" like nuts in many of the recipes. This diet is based on filling meals, to avoid the biggest cause of weight gain - cravings and HUNGER.

Many of those who have tried this diet, have succeeded in losing a lot of weight, especially around their middle. Now there's a good reason to give it a go!

**to win a copy of this book: please e-mail your name, address and book title to jenileerose@yahoo.com!


When it comes to reading anything political, humor will get you everywhere my friend. I may not always agree, but if an author is boring, I wont even take the time to read the book.

Glenn Beck's "Arguing with Idiots: How to Stop Small Minds and Big Government," was absolutely hilarious. I especially loved the side bars and his "A.D.D. Moments." Do I agree with everything he says? Absolutely not. But I have got to give him the respect he deserves for giving his opinions to us, (unplugged!) He uses real life quotes to support his ideas, but definitely goes out of his way to make the person look as bad as possible. But I say, good for him!

Here's a brief example of an A.D.D. Moment: "By Adjusting the top rates and reducing windfalls paid out to some of the wealthiest individuals in the nation, we can help restore a sense of equity and fairness that is critical to the success of our voluntary tax system." Beck retaliates with "I always love when politicians call our tax system "voluntary," as though people have a choice whether or not to pay them. Ask Wesley Snipes how voluntary it is to file a 1040."

My opinion? Yeah, our taxes are voluntary, but if you don't pay, you go to prison! You get the idea, this book is great!


I am going to switch it up a little bit and focus on an author. I mean, they are the most important part of a book, aren't they? I adore Pete Dexter, I find his writing rather magical. He's a bit of a smart ass, and gets to the point. He doesn't sit there running readers around in circles, he has a distinct voice that he displays in his writing that does his characters justice. His characters are extremely memorable, and everyone has a role.

Dexter's newest novel, "Spooner" opens with two deaths. First, with our main character Warren Spooner's birth. His twin brother, was still born, which leaves his mother devastated forever. The second death results in a burial at sea for Congressman Rudolf Toebox.

The stage is set, now it's up to you to experience the rest of this masterpiece.

**to win a copy of this book: please e-mail your name, address and book title to jenileerose@yahoo.com!

Ace the GRE!

When preparing for an insanely important test like the GRE (The Graduate Record Examination) it is very helpful to find a study guide that is user friendly. "Cracking the GRE 2010 Edition" is exactly that, helpful AND user friendly. It gives also gives you the specific learning techniques you need to score big, for instance how to be organized while taking the test. It will help you save precious time.

The Princeton Review shows you exactly what you need to do to score high on this Graduate School entrance exam. Especially for those of you who have been out of college for decades, and need to brush up on subjects like math, this book will save your life!

My advice, grab a copy of this book, take advantage of the online resources and TAKE THOSE PRACTICE TESTS!

Monday, September 21, 2009


The new installment of the Alex Cross series "Alex Cross's Trial" is another hit for James Patterson. Some may even consider it a recovery from his summer book "Swimsuit." It is filled with a lot of issues of interest, focusing mostly on race in the South. If you think our government is ridiculous now, just imagine what it would be like to live in 1906 (which is the time period this book is written in).

You all should be aware that the title is a bit deceiving. It is not really about Alex Cross, but Abraham Cross, one of his ancestors and also lawyer Ben Corbett. Corbett fights a case for the Cross family. It is quite intriguing.

How ironic that we have a black president when this book comes out. It just goes to show you how we can evolve as a country.


Oh, Serena Williams...if you consider ALL publicity to be good publicity, then I wouldn't worry about getting fined ten grand at the US Open, for losing your temper and saying that you would slam a "fucking" ball down a line judge's throat only a few weeks after your book was released.

If you don't however, you may be a little worried about Americas perception of you and your little tantrum.

Listen everyone, I am here to tell you to pick up a copy of her autobiography "One The Line" regardless of the little stunt she pulled. Nobody is perfect, and this book is worth the read. It fills in the blanks of her childhood, where she grew up, the relationship with her sister, Venus and how their father taught them the game of tennis.

Get ready to develop a better understanding of this tennis superstar!

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

greatest teen book EVER.

So I've basically been obsessed with reading, forever. Especially as a young teen, my head was always stuck in a book, Judy Blume, The Babysitters Club, The Secret Garden, etc. Lizzie Shurnick's "Shelf Discovery" is pretty much the greatest thing ever. She filled the pages with tid bits of all the popular books (from the 60's to the 80's) that every teen reads eventually (or should read!)

The classics: Harriet The Spy, Nancy Drew, Little House on the Prairie, and many other wholesome adolescent stories are all there in this one book. Seriously, someone should have thought of this years ago!

You will never get tired of this book!

TO WIN A COPY OF THIS BOOK E-MAIL jenileerose@yahoo.com, your name, address and book title!

the middle east.

Okay, before I begin this next review, think to yourself. Are you interested in the Middle East? Are you curious as to what is true and what is false in all of the conflict with the Middle East? Do you not understand half of what is going on over there, and would like some one to explain it to you? Do you believe in God, in the sense that you believe Jesus will return and save us Christians? If you answered yes to any of these questions, pick up a copy of "Blood in the Sand: The Middle-East Conflict" by Benny Hinn.

I am not going to say that Hinn answered every question completely clear and concise. The Middle East Conflict is so complex, but he definitely helped me make more sense of the mess.

gourmet rhapsody.

Muriel Barbery proved her fabulousness in "The Elegance of the Hedgehog" and has done it again with her newest off-center titled work "Gourmet Rhapsody."

The greatest food critic (or so he calls himself) in the world is on his death bed. It is his heart that is failing, NOT his ego. But anyways, he is looking for a certain taste. One he knew as a child, but he cannot put his finger on what it was. It may sound silly, but the book is actually really good and there is much more to this man than you may think.

The setting is in the same apartment building (in Rue de Grenelle) as the first novel, but in a different room. You can just imagine how long this could go on, my hope is that the lovely author goes through every room.

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

the good thief.

12- year-old Ren has only one hand and is an orphan in New England. The only clue to his background were the clothes he was wrapped in when he was found as a baby, they were embroidered with the initials R.E.N. thus his name. Hmm, mystery.

He hooks up with this kid Benjamin who claims to be his long lost brother, when really he is just a pathological liar. Takes Ren under his wing, you can just imagine what a role model. Ha, he gets our boy Ren involved in the lifestyle of law breaking and thievery. Curious? I thought so.

Author, Hannah Tinti writes a bit old fashioned (in a good way). "The Good Thief" is her first novel and is definitely worth the read.

*** WIN A COPY OF THIS BOOK!: e-mail the book title, your name & address to jenileerose@yahoo.com

vivid memoir

Born in poverty in the 1930's Kamila was forced into marriage with a man twice her age when she was thirteen, and a mother when she was fifteen, GROSS. And, FYI: she was in love with someone else! The author of "The Locust and the Bird", Hanan al-Shaykh helps tell her mother, Kamila's story. It is written beautifully in first person, with Kamila herself as the narrator.

So she puts up a fight on having to get married to this gross guy named Abu-Hussein because she's in love with Muhammad, not that she would want to marry the old guy anyway. Regardless her stupid husband knocks her up, (unwillingly on her part) but since she is hardcore in love with Muhammad she ends up having a long lasting affair with him...

Okay, it's a long story, you should just read it before I spoil anything else.

book to movie!

We have all heard of the movie "Julie and Julia" that has recently hit the big screen and has done pretty well in the box office. The reviews of the movie are quite good, and this review on the book is no different.

"Julie & Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously" by Julie Powell, is fantastic. It does not bore us to death about the art of cooking, it's cute, and laugh out loud funny. You can relate to Julie, working a terrible 9-5, knowing there's something more out there, a life with more meaning. It makes you want to start up a new hobby, whether it's cooking or something else that you have an interest in.

Ignore any bad reviews you read, seriously, the movie AND the book (especially) are great.


Believe it or not, "My Name is Will: A Novel of Sex, Drugs and Shakespeare" looks at William Shakespeare in a DIFFERENT point of view than I have ever read. Which is crazy because throughout school I have read every Shakespeare play and have written countless papers. Yet, Jess Winfield's new book is a breath of fresh air.

Picture Shakespeare's story, interspersed with the story of Willie Shakespeare Greenberg, a Master's student working on his thesis on Shakespeare and joining him on his road to self discovery.

I'm not going to say it's super scholarly, I doubt you'll be able to talk your English Professor to switch over to this piece of work, but it is extremely enjoyable!

female friendship.

You will love Lucinda Rosenfeld's "I'm So Happy for You." With crazy main characters Wendy Murman and BFF Daphne Uberuff and their lives full of drama, you will either relate completely, or just be glad you don't have these type of friends. With friends like these, who needs enemies? Not that they don't love each other, but really, these chicks are chaotic.

We all have had situations where we are either the friend who has it together, or the one that doesn't. You are either the needy one, or the one who is the rock. Well, what happens when the dynamic changes? Your life either gets better, or much, much worse? How do you handle the difference? Wendy and Daphne explore this first hand.

It's a bit catty, but really effing funny. Give it a go.

stupid gas.

Gas. We hate spending our money on it, but we just can't live without it, eh? "$20 Per Gallon" by Christopher Steiner discuses the changes that will occur in our lifestyles as the gasoline prices increase. Sounds boring? Of course it does, but it's not as bad as you think trust me.

Steiner argues that the demand for oil will gradually increase and will continue to increase as the global middle class expands and the oil that remains in the earth will be more and more expensive to locate and extract.

It's a book I would normally pass up because I do not like to discuss issues like the economy and such, but I am glad I read it. It affects all of us. We need to start making changes now, before they become something we are forced to do.

DIE HARD baseball fans.

After receiving a copy of "Bert Sugar's Baseball Hall Of Fame" and reading through it myself, I handed it over to my 82 year old grandfather and he loved it! Of course, being a die hard fan since childhood and living in New York state, he has been to Cooperstown and has seen the real deal, but let me tell you, this book is definitely second best.

The photographs are fantastic, it's really a beautiful book, not that my grandpa would admit to it's beauty, because he is after all a "tough guy" but from a broads (as he calls me) point of view, it is very nicely put together. It thoroughly explores the history of baseball and Cooperstown's Hall of Fame (floors 1-3 included) with all of your favorite players from the 1900's until now.

Sugar has proven that baseball IS the greatest game on earth!

Monday, August 24, 2009

juicy, juicy, juicy.

Bobby and Jackie's (Kennedy) love story by C. David Heymann titled "Bobby and Jackie: A Love Story" was deliciously fabulous. I was never one to pay attention in history class, so what has stuck with me in the history of the 1960's is marijuana and love affairs. Let's just say I wish they taught this book in history class.

After the assassination of JFK, Bobby and Jackie got together. Rumor has it he banged it out with Marilyn Monroe as well, you have to admit the guy has excellent taste, but thats another story for another time. The book definitely pried into their very personal relationship, reading it made me feel slightly dirty, which I love.

It's a page turner like no other!


Granted, I am not funny AND clean, but I can definitely appreciate a book that is. "Entr@pment: A High School Comedy in Chat" by Michael Spooner is teen friend and VERY humorous. The characters are believable which makes them relatable to readers like you and me.

Spooner definitely reminds us that internet identities may not be real. It's something the youth of today forget, the people that you talk to on Instant Message and Facebook, could be ANYBODY. The book is written in an online chat type way, you will get sucked in on the first page, trust me!

I give this a big thumbs up to all ages and all genders. Everyone will love it!

oh hey, i'm in a cult, no big deal.

Cults, they are like train wrecks, disturbing but you cannot help but look, or in this case read. "Cult Insanity: A Memoir of Polygamy, Prophets, and Blood Atonement" by Irene Spencer is the most intense memoir I have ever read.

This chick was raised to believe that polygamy was her golden ticket to heaven. Clearly a man must have been in charge because any idea that we were designed by a higher being to marry more than one person and have a bazillion kids is effing insane. Oh and, the men could bed as many wives as they wanted, but if I walked up demanding 21 husbands to fulfill my "needs", they would murder me. Anyone who went against this "religion" were killed. Hi, can we say psycho?

The crazy-ass-ness of this book was extremely interesting to read about. It's a true life story. I mean, wow, could you imagine living Spencer's life? Take a look into her story and you will get an idea of what she was up against. You won't be disappointed!

every thug needs a lady.

Please do not let the title of Wahida Clark's new book "Thug Lovin'" turn you off. For those of you who do not know, it is the fourth book in her "Thug" series, and you should not be scared off by the ghetto fabulousness of the title. It's more urban fabulous.

Our main characters Trae, Tasha, Kaylin, Angel and the rest of the crew in books 1 - 3 are back in action! Book 4 is filled with twists and turns and you will probably develop a different view of these characters (and your favorite couple (HINT), than in the past three books. I mean, they are thugs so you can't expect them to be predictable, right?

Lets just say you will "dig" this new installment of the series, I promise!

Tuesday, August 4, 2009

summer love, loss and self discovery.

"Twenty Boy Summer" by Sarah Ockler is technically a "young adult" book, but it is enjoyed by adults, I am proof because I am one, and I enjoyed it immensely, so forget stupid categories on this one people. (Unless you are a young adult, then you are set).

Here's the deal, Anna and Frankie are best friends, what Frankie doesn't know is that Anna is in love with Frankie's older brother Matt. The two keep their relationship a secret, and the three's worlds turn upside down when they get into a car accident, and the only survivors are Anna and Frankie. A year later, with hearts still fragile, the girls go on a fabulous summer vacation to California.

Secrets, death and heartache. Doesn't seem like a typical summer read that you would want to enjoy, but you will find it insightful and youthful. Self discovery is something that we can all relate too, and friendship is friendship, no matter how old you are.

just getting warmed up!

Stieg Larsson's first book of his Millenium Trilogy, "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo" was extremely hard to beat, and I wouldn't say that the second, "The Girl Who Played with Fire" was better per say, but it was just as good!

Publisher Mikael Blomkvist and the police are conducting parallel investigations into three horrifying murders. Their initial evidence points straight at young computer genius and social misfit Lisbeth Salander. Thats when things get complicated, and extremely complex. There are multiple investigations (Salander's of course, the police and Millenium's), multiple suspects, more murders...

The story is riveting, really, and of course leaves us with a cliffhanger. The third book is already out, and if you want to learn Swedish, you can read it now. For those of us stuck with this silly English langugage, we have to wait until 2010!

Monday, August 3, 2009

history buffs.

We have been learning about men and women in history, such as George Washington and Benjamin Franklin, since we started kindergarten. "American Heroes" by Edmund Morgan includes these famous gentlemen, and then some. He focuses hardcore on the Puritans. Quakers, witches, society, sex, etc.

I was pleasantly surprised to find people that I have never heard of enclosed in this book. Not that the popular ones aren't important, but we have learned about them for forever, it's time to take a look into the ones who were behind the scenes. For example: the genius Perry Miller, and the case against Anne Hutchinson who bravely stood up to the Puritan Church.

Pick up this book, even if it's just for the fact that you will learn something new about someone new.

Monday, July 27, 2009

baby makinggggg.

I don't know why I thought of this when I saw the title of this next book I am going to review, but there is a quote from the show "30 Rock" that makes me laugh whenever I hear it and this "Making Babies" book made me think of it just now...

Let me explain, there are two women characters in the show Jenna and Liz, and they are both freaks, but anyways, there is an episode where Liz is totally baby crazy, and Jenna (who is known for saying ridiculous things) says: "Look at us and our biological clocks, you are baby crazy and I keep getting turned on by car accidents," hahahahha. Frankly, I am Jenna, but for those of you like Liz, grab a copy of "Making Babies" by Sami S. David, MD,, and Jill Blakeway, LAc (it comes out in August).

Basically it's a book on how to get pregnant. It talks about the five fertility types, so you can determine which type you are. Hormonal issues, in other words why the hell can't you get preggers? What to eat (don't eat swordfish, FYI). De-stressing tips so that you can make a baby before you freak out on your husband and his stupid sperm. It will be fine, just read up, eat right, follow this 3-month program and think about Charlotte from "Sex and the City." Yes, she's a fictional character, but shit like that happens ALL the time. Just look for the Caucasian mom and dad with two Asian kids and one Caucasian baby, they are out there, I've seen them.

Those of you who want to make a baby, follow these rules, and I will go out and buy swordfish in bulk.

***to win a copy of this book: email your name, address and the book title to jenileerose@yahoo.com!


"A Moveable Feast" is most appropriate for young adults, like myself. It was as if Earnest Hemingway designed these stories for us. Look past the family drama in the editing and introduction of this book. We don't care who did what to who, we just want to read what Hemingway always intended. His words are something that cannot be tweaked, they are right in this book, in his handwriting.

We have all had a relationship with Hemingway in some way, especially us twenty-somethings that have taken any college level english class. He is everywhere. Now take a step back for a second, and stop looking at this man as just a famous writer, look at him as a TEACHER. Learn from him, and there's a chance that you may become, not only a great writer, but a famous writer as well! (Preferably one who does not commit suicide, thanks!)

look at me, being adventurous.

To me, motor sports, cars in general are pretty much the most uninteresting thing, ever. Okay, golf is a little more uninteresting, but you get the idea. I was hesitant to pick up a copy of "Go Like Hell" by A.J. Baime. A.J., I would like to take a moment to apologize for ever doubting you.

The names Ford and Ferrari, become more than just popular name brands of the vehicles we drive, they become Mr. Ford and Mr. Ferrari. Ford represents the new kid on the block, while Ferrari has been around the block more times than you can count. It's all about business competition, in a way that I have never bothered to see before. 

It's insightful, magical even. Get excited! GET A COPY!

the story of my favorite president.

As you can imagine by title and the front cover, “JFK: Why He Died, and Why it Matters” is primarily the story of John F. Kennedy. In his story, our 35th president changed from a Cold Warrior to an altruistic leader willing to risk his life to ensure that the world's children will not become victims of a nuclear catastrophe.
The same amount of time is spent on JFK's presidency, as on the assassination but one of the many rewards of this book is author James W. Douglass’ ability to show the relationship between his policies and his death. And the book is a tragedy because it gradually becomes obvious that each step he makes toward peace steadily increases the hatred of his enemies who will eventually betray him.
This is an amazing book; it will be around forever and help future historians piece together the life and death of this famous president. 

Thursday, July 16, 2009

again with the affairs!

I have read Elin Hilderbrand's other bestselling books, "Barefoot" and "A Summer Affair" so I was beyond excited to pick up a copy of her latest "The Castaways" !!!!!!

We are back on Nantucket (where our author lives with her family, no wonder she knows so much about it eh?), the summer season is about to begin with a very interesting group of friends, couples actually, the Wheelers, the Drakes, the Kapenashes and the MacAvoys. Each and every one of these married folks has their issues, but the most obvious were Greg and Tess MacAvoy's. Of course before things get really interesting with this couples secrets, they mysteriously drown. Leaving the others to discover the missing pieces. Each of these characters have their own chapters, so step my step we all figure out the mystery together. You are not going to love every one of these complex characters, but you will definitely love this book!

Hilderbrand has not disappointed me yet, and she sure as hell did not start now!

**to win a copy of this book, email your name, address and book title to jenileerose@yahoo.com!!!!

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

even though i'm 23, i can appreciate a good children's book!

I absolutely LOVED "The Hair of Zoe Fleefenbacher Goes to School" by Laurie Halse Anderson and Ard Hoyt. It was the cutest book ever!

In this story Zoe’s wild red hair, with its many tendrils that brush her teeth, grab her clothes, and pack her lunch. Then Anderson takes a step back for a history lesson: Zoe’s hair learned to open the cookie jar at age two and could fly by age four. Her kindergarten class loved it for furry snuggling at nap time, but when first grade came around, and her teacher Ms. Trisk had the tendency to bitch about EVERYTHING, her hair was no longer considered a prize. “School has rules,”  Ms. Trisk snaps as she disciplines Zoe, who frowns in despair as her hair continues to misbehave, even transforming into a hair-dragon to chase the teacher away. 

It is a lesson for every teacher to EMBRACE what your students have a tough time controlling, AND BE PATIENT! They will prove to you that they are worthy, just like Zoe's hair did!

moving on...

Moving is not something I have a lot of experience with. I moved once, for 6 months down to Myrtle Beach into an apartment that had everything in it but MY clothes and books, so it was pretty easy. Other than that I have lived in my childhood home (and bedroom) for 23 years. "On Moving" by Professor Louise DeSalvo, gave me a new outlook on the process and how it truly affects a person emotionally. 

Professor DeSalvo understands how we are both shaped and altered by place. She saves most of her personal experience until the last chapter, but by then, we are highly receptive to her insights because she has elucidated the place experiences of Virginia Woolf, Henry Miller, D.H Lawrence, Mark Doty, Elizabeth Bishop and others in a way that recognizes the impact of place on the human spirit.

This book will help you understand your conflicting feelings on moving, even if it is to the house of your dreams. 

To win a copy of this book, please send your name, address and book title to jenileerose@yahoo.com!

a vivid novel that touches on A LOT of issues.

In Black Rock, Tobago, half-breed Celia D'Abadie's mom died giving birth to her while her absentee Caucasian father deserted her to return to his home in Southampton, England. Her maternal Aunt Tassi raises her lovingly. Everything is great until Tassi marries Roman. He is abusive and ever leering and stalking Celia. When she is sixteen, her uncle rapes her. 

I never really understood why people want to read books having to do with personal tragedies such as murder, rape, etc. But look at me, I read about that stuff ALL the time. Am I a freak? Are we all freaks? Do we feel comfort in the fact that it's a fictional story, even though stuff like it happens every day?? I have no idea, I only know one thing, this novel, "Lime Tree Can't Bear Orange" by Amanda Smyth is amazing, and you should read it, freak or no freak. 

for DOG lovers!

For forty-five years retired teacher Ruth and artist Alex Cohen have lived in their East Village co-op, but now the elderly couple finds the five flights of stairs unbearable and their cherished dachshund named Dorothy can no longer move her back feet making it that much more difficult for them. They need to move to a place that can better fit their needs. 

"Heroic Measures" by Jill Ciment is a story about the weekend of stress this couple endures while getting ready for the open house, and realizing that their beloved dog has something seriously wrong with her. Their lives may seem ordinary, but the story is touching, especially for you animal lovers who will do anything for that pet that will do anything for you!

new novella!!

There are few authors that can pull off the short story, novella type books and Robert Boswell is one of them. "They Heyday of the Insensitive Bastards" is phenomenal. In his stories the characters are a bit unfortunate. A woman, having lost her disabled husband, now finds that she has also lost her best friend. A house cleaner has been abandoned by her husband. A needy young man goes broke while in the thrall of a fortune teller, etc. The thing about Boswell is that he can take a "loser" type character and turn their misadventure into a haunting thrill ride, with twists and turns every reader can enjoy. 

I don't want to give too much away, but trust me you don't want to miss this!!!

Wednesday, July 1, 2009


 As you know, I love love lovvvveeee biographies, I say it every time I read a good one and post it on this lovely website. "Stripping Gypsy: The Life of Gypsy Rose Lee" is fascinating to say the least. 

Anyone who loved Gypsy Rose Lee's memoir, the musical "Gypsy," or you lucky old folks (no offence) who actually got to see Miss Lee's performances way back in the day, will LOVE this book! Gypsy Rose Lee's life and career are covered in depth in this meticulously well-researched book by author Noralee Frankel. 

If you are looking for the naked truth, you found it!

for a chance to win a copy e-mail your name, address and this book title to: jenileerose@yahoo.com!

the "what diet?" book!

OH MY GODDDD. oh my god. SERIOUSLY, I am obsessed with this new recipe book. "Hungry Girl: 200 Under 200." It has 200 recipes UNDER 200 calories. Lisa Lillien is a genius, let me tell you. It is sooooo hard to be on a diet. Ugh, so hard, I hate it!!! But, honestly this chick knows what's up, this book has so much to offer us not naturally skinny ladies, who need to watch what we put in our mouths! 

My favorites recipes so far: Tuna Salad, Quesadilla, and the Frittata Italiano! Lillien also includes healthy desserts (that don't suck) and healthy cocktails. HERE, HERE!!!

This will be the best money you ever spent on a diet supplement, and you don't have to pop pills or starve. Here, here!! (again)

perfect summer read.

James Patterson's latest thriller, "Swimsuit"  is a quick read, nothing too flashy. Your typical Patterson summer read. Personally, I enjoy Patterson books more when he writes them alone. I also think that people need to give the duo of Patterson and Maxine Paetro a real chance, just because this book does not follow typical thriller plot lines, doesn't mean it doesn't have the same unexpected twists we all love. "Swimsuit" is perfect for these lazy summer days we have coming up!  

Pick up a copy of this fast paced thriller, lay out in the sun & enjoy!

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Best Travel Book!

This small book is filled with tons of information to help us travel well. Author Scott Mccartney explains how and why bad things happen, despite your best planning. We are all traveling in an uncertain environment, orchestrated by overworked people and often frustrating fellow travelers. He also explains why many of these difficulties occur and how to handle them; it is extremely helpful!
Become a more informed traveler and pick up a copy of Mccartney’s The Wall Street Journal Guide to Power Travel: How to Arrive with Your Dignity, Sanity, and Wallet Intact”


Ty Buchanan's beloved fiancĂ© has just died in a freak Hollywood style accident, instantly causing his world to fall apart. At his fiancĂ©’s funeral, a homeless man confronts Ty to tell him his girlfriend might have been murdered.
“Try Dying,” is a no-nonsense crime novel with a legal bent rather than a private investigator or cop angle. Author James Scott Bell has switched genres and developed a thrilling new series with this book!

Jason "Bourne" is back!

Oh Matt Damon, and his Jason “Bourne” movies, who knew they came from a series of books by Eric Van Lustbader and Robert Ludlum? I sure as hell didn’t. Honestly, I have never even seen the movies, no offense Mr. Damon, but you are not sexy enough for me to sit through an action flick.
The newest addition to the series, “The Bourne Deception” is just as fast paced and exciting as the movies (so I’ve heard), as only a reader of the book I can tell you that the book was very good.
I have done my research and others have not called it the best “Bourne” book, but definitely worth a read. 

WIN A COPY: e-mail your name, address and this book title to jenileerose@yahoo.com

life after death.

Hmmmm…a book about life after death, not a book about what heaven is like, this is a book about what our dear departed would like to tell us here on Earth about how to clean up unfinished business so that we don't have to go through the same regret and guilt they did when they passed on.
We have all lost people, at least ONE that was important to us in some way. But do those people, who have passed, having something to teach us now?
Become inspired and enlightened, take a look into James Van Praagh’s “Unfinished Business: What the Dead Can Teach Us About Life.”


“Sisters and Husbands” is Connie Briscoe’s sequel to “Sisters and Lovers,” with our main ladies, Evelyn, Charmaine and Beverly back in action!
Between these three sisters, there is trouble in paradise, havoc in bliss, and the big questions: why is marriage so hard? Is it worth all the work?
A smooth read, packed full of drama, what more can you ask for?

WIN A COPY: e-mail your name, address and this book title to jenileerose@yahoo.com

knit lit!

In the most recent addition to author Beth Pattillo’s “knit lit” series, the ladies of the Sweetgum Knit Lit Society are reading and discussing some of the great fictional romances. This of course, leads to a debate. What is love to each of them?
They begin to focus on their own personal lives, and the issues they face, ESPECIALLY their relationships with men. We readers get the inside scoop on this extraordinary group of women.
Extremely entertaining and has something for everyone!

april & oliver.

You have GOT to love a book that hooks you by the first chapter. In "April & Oliver," Tess Callahan creates two characters of startling depth, each oddly unique, but entirely real. Readers are normally lucky to encounter one unforgettable character in a story; this fabulous writer gives us two!
I would not consider this book an “easy read,” you have got to pay attention, or you will be lost. It’s great though, impossible to lose interest, I DARE you not to read it in one day. 

WIN A COPY: e-mail your name, address and this book title to jenileerose@yahoo.com

Wednesday, June 3, 2009


Alright people, if you like mysteries AND short stories (and I mean, who doesn't?) you will LOVE "The Prosecution Resists" by the Inc. Mystery Writers of America. It covers a crazy wide range of crimes, so if you're looking to commit murder or something, you may get some ideas. (Just take the joke please, psycho's).

I really loved this book, short stories make it easy to put down and pick back up again. In our busy lives, what's not to love? Get a copy ASAP!